Every member of the 2020-21 Rockport-Fulton High School (RFHS) Lady Pirate basketball team received District 26-4A All-District honors.

First year head coach Morgan Hale was named Coach of the Year after compiling a 23-5 overall record and an undefeated 11-0 district record.

Junior forward Kaylee Howell was named Most Valuable Player for the district. Howell led an offense that averaged the fourth most points per game in the Coastal Bend (51.1). Individually, she averaged 19.1 points per game through the regular season; good for fourth best. She also led the entire Coastal Bend in rebounds, collecting 14.5 per game.

Sophomore guard Jordan Malone was named Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player. Malone was the machine that kept the ladies moving offensively and a tough defender on the perimeter. She averaged 11.1 points per game, but ranked in the top 10 in the Coastal Bend in assists per game at 3.6.

Sophomore guard Messiah Hernandez was named the Sixth Man of the Year. Coming off the bench, Hernandez was an automatic three-ball at times for RFHS and opened up the floor for Howell and Lilith Solis in the paint.

Junior forward Lilith Solis and junior guard Mikayla Molina were named First Team All-District.

Solis tag teamed with Howell to create the most dominant frontcourt in the Coastal Bend. While Howell led the Coastal Bend in rebounds, right behind her in second place was Solis, who averaged 10.5 rebounds per game. Solis also averaged 8.4 points per game.

Molina paired with Malone to assemble one of the more dominant backcourts in the Coastal Bend. The duo was especially tough defensively; combined, they averaged nearly four steals a game.

Junior guard Alyssa Garcia and junior forward Audra Jones were named Second Team All-District.

Garcia started for RFHS and was another athletic presence on the perimeter. She along with Malone and Molina encompassed a tough defensive shell along the perimeter that made it tough for numerous teams to game plan against.

Jones was the primary backup for Howell and Solis in the middle. Her length made it tough for teams to shoot over and came up with some big buckets on the offensive boards.

Players receiving Academic All-District honors are Howell, Malone, Hernandez, Molina, Garcia, Jones, Jamie Whitley, Alexia Herrman, Makayla Guerrero, and Tia Anderson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.