The Rockport-Fulton High School (RFHS) Pirate football team had 32 players receive District 16-4A Division II all-district honors following the 2021 season.

Senior (Sr.) running back John Chupe was named Offensive Most Valuable Player for the district. Chupe was an electric playmaker out of the backfield all season for the Pirates. He finished the year 138-1,513 yards rushing with 21 rush touchdowns (TD), and 11-343 yards receiving with six TD’s.

Sophomore (So.) quarterback Ace Seibert, junior (Jr.) running back Devan Phillips, Sr. right tackle Brian Cunningham, and Jr. right guard Logan McClelland received First Team All-District honors.

A. Seibert took a huge step in his development as a passer from last season, nearly tripling his TD amount and doubling his passing yardage a year removed from his freshman season. He finished the year 87-157 passing for 2,070 yards, 33 TD’s, and seven interceptions.

Phillips paired with Chupe to create the best 1-2 backfield punch in the district this season. Both backs combined for 2,399 yards and 33 TD’s on the ground. Phillips also spent time in the slot when RFHS went into the spread and played corner on defense. He finished the year 94-886 yards rushing with 12 TD’s and was 16-226 yards receiving with two TD’s.

Cunningham and McLelland anchored an offensive line that rushed for 3,607 yards and 49 TD’s.

Sr. linebacker Payton McAlister, Sr. linebacker Joe Moreno, Sr. nose tackle Luis Aguilar, Sr. outside linebacker (OLB) Phillip Krupa, and So. kicker Cristobol Deleon received First Team All-District honors.

McAlister was the Pirate defense’ most valuable player this season. Like a heat seeking missile, McAlister found ball carriers on what seemed like every play. He led RFHS in nearly every defensive statistic, including assisted tackles (59), total tackles (139), forced fumbles (3), sacks (6), TD’s (2 - tied), and tackles for loss (22). He also blocked five punts.

Moreno solidified a tough, hard hitting interior presence with McAlister and bolstered the best line-backing core in the district. Moreno led RFHS in solo tackles (81), fumble recoveries (3), and was second in total tackles with 137.

Krupa received his second straight first team nod at OLB and played a key role in pass coverage for RFHS. He finished the season with 93 combined tackles, 22 pressures, two sacks, two interceptions, and four pass break-ups (PBU).

Aguilar was the focal point of a stout defensive line that controlled the middle of the field and caused havoc in the backfield. He finished the season with 71 combined tackles, but led RFHS in sacks (6), and was second on the team in pressures (15) and TFL (21).

After being named Kicker of the Year as a freshman, Deleon got plenty more work this season with 100 attempted kickoffs and 83 point-after-try’s (PAT). He recorded 17 touchbacks and was 75-83 on PAT’s. He was also 1-2 in field goals.

Sr. tight end Ean McPherson, Sr. left tackle Jarred Solis, Sr. left guard Joey Cantu, Jr. center David Hoyt, and So. receiver Jordan Gibson received Second Team All-District honors.

McPherson stepped into a new position this year and flourished in key moments when a catch was needed in traffic. He was 11-141 yards with two TD’s.

Solis and Cantu solidified the left side of the line with power and speed in RFHS’ slot and spread formations.

In his first season on varsity, Hoyt took over snapping duties and gave the Pirates a big presence in the middle.

Gibson played a big role in his first year on varsity as Seibert’s favorite target in the passing game. He was 20-437 yards and six TD’s.

Sr. cornerback Rickey Franks, Sr. free safety Carsen Flores, and Sr. cornerback Wyatt Bohn received Second Team All-District honors.

Franks was RFHS’ top outside weapon on both sides of the ball this season. On defense, he led the team in interceptions (4), PBU’s (8), and TD’s (2 - tied). On offense, he led the team in receiving yardage (519) and receiving TD’s (11).

Flores notched his second straight all-district nod at free safety and finished the season with 37 tackles and one interception.

Bohn was a new starter for the Pirates this season and alternated at corner and safety. He recorded 31 tackles and three PBU’s.

Sr running back Luke Muirhead, Jr strong safety Kaden Kennedy, Jr OLB Ayden Rangel, So defensive tackle Noah Jones, and OLB Kalub Schmidt received Honorable Mention nods.

Players receiving Academic All-District honors are Chupe, Seibert, Phillips, Cunningham, Moreno, Krupa, Deleon, McPherson, Hoyt, Franks, Flores, Bohn, Muirhead, Jones, Rangel, Colin Delgado, Cole Rios, David Chittarath, Nathan Blanford, Brandon Martin, Cristian Kane-Morin, Matthias Esparza, Victor Pena, and Rodrigo Gonzales.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.