Great job

Aransas County commissioners, at their regular meeting Monday, July 8, recognized the Aransas County Historical Commission (ACHC) for receiving the Texas Historical Commission’s Distinguished Service Award. The ACHC has received the award now for a number of years.

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) has once again awarded the Aransas County Historical Commission (ACHC) its Distinguished Service Award (DSA). This award is for the 2018 year of service. It was presented at Aransas County commissioners’ regular meeting Monday, July 8.

The THC annually recognizes County Historical Commissions (CHC) that demonstrate exceptional service to preserve the heritage of Texas.

“The DSA honors CHCs that go above and beyond to protect and promote local historic and cultural resources. They are essential to our agency’s efforts to save the real places that tell the real stores of Texas,” said THC Executive Director Mark Wolfe.

This annual award affirms the ACHC is documenting ongoing, well-rounded programs of history and preservation-related projects that enrich Aransas County communities.

ACHC officers are Betty Stiles (chair), Mike Geer (vice chair), Barbara Gurtner (secretary), and Sandra Bridges (treasurer).

If one would like to submit a property for consideration of an historical marker, contact Sandy Garrison at

(1) comment


[url=""]JAMB CBT 2020 RUNS[/url] [url=""]WAEC 2020 RUNS[/url] [url=""]NECO 2020 RUNS[/url] [url=""]2020 GCE RUNS[/url]

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.